The African Freshwater Life platform is a result of the AFRESH 1 meeting (African FREshwater entomology workSHop) held in South Africa in February 2016. This inaugural meeting included 69 delegates from 20 African countries and was funded by the JRS Biodiversity Foundation and the National Research Foundation of South Africa.

The AFRESH network is lead by Helen Barber-James (Albany Museum, Grahamstown) and KD Dijkstra (Naturalis Biodiversity Centre, Leiden).

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith